Dr. Robin L. Lumsden Honorary Consul of Jamaica


Jamaica is an independent state composed of islands within the Commonwealth of Nations in the Caribbean. Here are some facts:

  • Official Language: English
  • Capital City: Kingston
  • Form of Governments: Parliamentary Monarchy
  • Currency: Jamaica Dollar
  • Time Zone: UTC – 5 hours
  • Religion: Protestant (about 2/3 of the population)
  • Climate: Tropical, approximately 25 – 27 °C
  • Rainy season: May – June and September – November